Shorter Interview Kiernan Burke

Observatory Notes

– messy room

– wearing jeans and a t-shirt

-humorous, seems happy

Interview Questions

1. Where are you from?

–camillus NY

-its a small town just outside syrcacuse

-Lived there all his life

2. Why did you come to Syracuse?

-Best school he got into

-Nearby family and friends

3. How has your experience at SU been so far?

-its been awesome

-a lot of homework

-a lot of responsibility

4. How would you describe the transition?

-pretty straight forward

-easier with friends around

– feels like high school

5. Do have many friends?

– yea,

– has more high school friends, but is making a lot of college friends

-friends from high school are a “different” kind of friends

-friends from high school are more like family than friends

6. How do you split your time between social and academic life?

– has a pretty even mix

– does a lot of group studying, especially in subjects like Chem and Bio where there are a lot of people in the class and many from the dorm he can work with

– goes out most weekends, but often goes to “swim house” with his high school friend

7. Do you participate in clubs or extra-curricular activities?

-no

– may rush, but is waiting to see how busy his schedule is

– spends a lot of his free time with floormates

8.  Did you find the transition from high school to college easy?

– not as hard a as expected

– easier because he lives close, he does not do laundry

-can visit home whenever he wants so he does not get home sick

– has been doing well in class and often helps other students in the dorm

– feels he has plenty of friends with the even mix old friends and new friends

-has been going home less and less; did his laundry for the first time on campus recently

9. Do you feel you are at an advantage/disadvantage based on where you are from?

-feels he has a slight advantage

-knows the area/climate and often is asked about it

-smooth move in/ only partial move in as he can go back to his house whenever he wants

– has access to many more materials to help him do better in school; medicine from home, schools supply’s whenever he wants them, a car if he needs one

Reflection

The interview was a different experience than anything I have done before. I started the assignment thinking it would be easy as I had done many interviews in the past and had an entire project dedicated to interviewing senior year. I learned that everyone is different when interview. When I interviewed an adult for my oral history project, it was fairly easy to keep her on track and I was able to direct her to answer the question more thoroughly using follow-up question. When I tried doing this with Kiernan, its was much harder. I had to ask more follow-up questions just to keep him focused on the question.  When I was finally able to get Kiernan to answer the question I had asked, his responses were short, and somewhat boring. I really struggled to get Kiernan to talk, but as the interview went on he began to open up and talk more and more. I am happy I did the short interview first , as I now know what questions to ask to get people talking and have refreshed my interviewing skills. I was surprised by Kiernan;s honesty, he admitted to man things, often in a humorous fashion, that I would never have expected him to admit to. For example Kiernan admitted that he did not have a ton of friends, but stuck to a small core group of friends. Kiernan could have been criticized for this, but still chose to admit it.

Leave a comment